I have a bachelor’s degree with magna cum laude honors from the University of Pennsylvania. I have been tutoring for more than 10 years and have taught students grades K-12 in a wide variety of subjects including mathematics, science, Spanish, social studies, and other humanities.

My tutoring style:

I am organized, meticulous, and keep track of time, while also remaining positive, patient, and caring. I prepare lesson plans in advance, but leave room for flexibility to ensure that the students have plenty of time to ask questions and get as much out of our sessions as possible. I care about getting to know my students and want to learn what works best for them, so I aim to structure sessions to meet each individual student’s needs. 

Many subjects are hard to learn for the first time; I understand that, and I really enjoy being one of the people responsible for helping them feel less stuck. It is a very rewarding feeling, and it is one of my favorite parts about teaching. I can promise that I will bring an abundance of enthusiasm, a warm personality, a love of teaching, and a focused and positive work ethic, all of which would enable me to create a simultaneously educational, productive, and nurturing environment for my students.

Success story:

A really memorable student for me was one that I actually met when I substituted for her regular tutor. This student has a learning disability and takes a while to open up to new people. I jumped in for 2 sessions while her tutor was unavailable. Almost a year later, the student was in need of a new tutor (her regular tutor was no longer available), and the parents remembered that I worked with her, so they asked me to become her regular tutor. When we started working together, I could see how she was not confident in her abilities. She had a really hard time reading, and it was very frustrating for her. 

I remembered that she takes time to open up to people. She had to make a US History presentation about a Supreme Court case, and she told me that she refused to read it because it was impossible. We broke it down together and found ways to use language that was most helpful for her. By the end, she was reading everything! It was amazing. She never refused to read anything again. She tried everything, and her confidence grew quickly. 

She started opening up to me and showing me her personality. At the beginning of each session, she would tell me about her day. It was amazing to develop that trust and build a meaningful tutor-student relationship. 

I was so proud of her and so happy that she felt comfortable working with me to make her more successful in school and confident in her abilities.

Hobbies and interests:

Acting, singing, theatre/musical theatre, watching movies, baking, speaking Spanish

K-12 Math
  • Elementary Math
  • Middle School Math
  • Common Core Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra I
  • Algebra II
  • Honors Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Trigonometry
K-12 Science
  • Elementary Science
  • Middle School Science
  • General Science
K-12 Language Arts
  • Phonics
  • Reading
  • Handwriting
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Speech
  • Common Core English
  • English I
  • English II
  • English III
  • English IV
  • Honors English
College Language Arts
  • Literature
  • College Essay Writing
  • Creative Writing
  • Composition
Test Prep
  • SAT Math
  • SAT Writing
  • ACT Math
  • ACT Science
  • ACT English
  • ACT Writing
  • PSAT

Elementary school, middle school, high school, and college learners.

A really memorable student for me was one that I actually met when I substituted for her regular tutor. This student has a learning disability and takes a while to open up to new people. I jumped in for 2 sessions while her tutor was unavailable. Almost a year later, the student was in need of a new tutor (her regular tutor was no longer available), and the parents remembered that I worked with her, so they asked me to become her regular tutor. When we started working together, I could see how she was not confident in her abilities. She had a really hard time reading, and it was very frustrating for her. 

I remembered that she takes time to open up to people. She had to make a US History presentation about a Supreme Court case, and she told me that she refused to read it because it was impossible. We broke it down together and found ways to use language that was most helpful for her. By the end, she was reading everything! It was amazing. She never refused to read anything again. She tried everything, and her confidence grew quickly. 

She started opening up to me and showing me her personality. At the beginning of each session, she would tell me about her day. It was amazing to develop that trust and build a meaningful tutor-student relationship. 

I was so proud of her and so happy that she felt comfortable working with me to make her more successful in school and confident in her abilities.

Tutoring subjects:

Algebra
Geometry
Trigonometry
English
Middle School Science
Elementary Math
Middle School Math
Phonics
Common Core English
Common Core Math
College Essay Writing
Creative Writing
Reading Comprehension
Honors Algebra
Honors English