I am a certified teacher with almost two decades of experience in classrooms teaching English and History to students at the middle and high school levels. I have a bachelor's degree from Portland State University and a master's from Lewis & Clark College. I tutor grades 5-College.

My Tutoring Style:

I am a patient and engaging teacher, passionate about being a lifelong learner and of course the topics that I teach. I adapt to the needs of my students, going slow and repeating myself if needed or jumping to meet their level. I love to get to know my students' interests, so I can create a more engaging experience.  I reinforce the topics we learn together by returning to them until the student is successful.

Success Story:

I had three students who were not passing an important test that determined whether or not they would be able to graduate high school. I tutored the three of them together for about three months after school. We determined what they were struggling with and focused our time on those skills. When they took the test, they all passed.

Hobbies & Interests:

I love to travel to other countries or even just  a nearby town. I go hiking and into nature whenever I can.  I love to seek new experiences. I spend my time reading fantasy, sci-fi, young adult fiction, and poetry. I also love to write poetry and prose.  I've been to dozens of music shows. My favorites are the types where you can sit on a blanket outside while enjoying the music.

Social Studies:

History, US History, Middle School Social Studies

ELA (Language Arts):

Reading Comprehension, Vocabulary, Spelling, Grammar, Speech, Common Core English, English I, English II, English III, English IV, Honors English, Literature, Composition, Creative Writing, Essay Writing, College Essay Writing, Writing, Middle School ELA

Tutoring subjects:

Middle School Social Studies
Middle School ELA
College Essay Writing

Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor