I am a certified math teacher with over 10 years of experience teaching students in a middle school, high school, and adult education setting. I have a Bachelor's degree in Biology from Spelman College, a Master's degree in Math Education from Mercy University, and second Master's degree in Learning Design and Technology from Purdue University.

Tutoring Style:

My primary goal as a tutor is to help students build their confidence with math. I like to provide a lot of examples, thorough explanations, and I also use technology tools to make learning more interactive and engaging. I also like to tailor my tutoring approach based on the needs/preferences of my students, and I love for them to have a voice in their own learning process.

Success Story:

One of my favorite success stories is from my time volunteering as a GED math tutor at an adult education center. One of my students had just immigrated to the United States and had a very negative opinion about her ability to learn, especially in math. She wanted to go to college, but she felt that she wasn't smart enough to pass the GED exam, let alone pursue higher education. However, after working with her a few times a week for about 6 months, she was able to successfully obtain her GED. After that, she went on to earn her Associate's, Bachelor's, and Master's degrees. She now owns and runs a successful catering business.

Hobbies & Interests:

I love spending time with my family, cooking/baking, visiting museums, going to the zoo/aquarium, attending concerts and Broadway shows, watching movies, listening to music, taking classes to learn new skills (such as sewing and jewelry making), and watching videos from my favorite online content creators.


  • Elementary Math
  • Middle School Math
  • Common Core Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra I
  • Geometry

Tutoring subjects:

Elementary Math
Middle School Math
Common Core Math
Algebra I

Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor