I am a certified teacher with years of experience of science classroom education. I am bilingual; I speak English and Spanish. I have a master's degree in secondary science education from Relay Graduate School of Education and I tutor grades 8-College.

My tutoring style:

My teaching style is to use both student experience and relevant real world application to make the learning "stick". From the start I invite students to participate in their learning, gradually moving towards student independence. I stop frequently, checking for student understanding and how they're feeling to make necessary adjustments for both their educational and emotional success.

Success story:

Regardless of where you are in your academics, every student can learn and achieve. I had a student who recently arrived from Cuba into her biology class during the second half of the academic year. She was behind in the class and also struggled because her English command was not very strong. We met after her class 5 days a week. She reviewed class notes and materials each day and I also helped meet her language needs by providing translation of the work between English and Spanish. At the end of the year, she passed her final biology exam.

Hobbies and interests:

It was finals week - I had spent hours studying chemical reactions for my organic chemistry exam. Feeling a bit flustered, I took a break and went for a run. In the end I found that I had run 3 loops around my campus for a total of 9 miles!! I was able to continue studying with renewed energy and did well on my final. Since then I took on running, joining local competitions and even running the New York City Marathon.

  • Biology
  • Earth Science
  • Environmental Science
  • AP Environmental Science
  • General Chemistry

Tutoring subjects:

Earth Science
Environmental Science
AP Environmental Science
College Chemistry

Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor