I have more than 12 years of experience tutoring all ages in both 1:1 and group settings. I have a master's degree in public health from Georgia State University and I tutor grades PK-College.

My tutoring style:

Teaching is my passion and I love seeing students succeed! My teaching philosophies include establishing meaningful and lasting relationships with students, tailoring instruction to accommodate their individual needs, and using sessions to improve students holistically through confidence building and checking in with their mental health. I believe education is important and all students can succeed given the correct support and motivation.

Success stories:

Jenny was a Chinese student in search of a better life in the United States. When she arrived in the United States, she started as a freshman in high school at a private school. She knew enough English to navigate life but not enough to understand technical terms that are found in textbooks. We started working together several times a week that year to increase her grades. She went from failing to excelling in the classroom. Once she got to the summer of sophomore year as a rising junior, we started studying for the SAT. She tried the PSAT in school and got a score of 900. We worked together for a few months through me introducing concepts and doing practice problems twice a week, and I discovered that the reading section on the SAT was very challenging for her no matter how hard she studied. Her score improved by 200 points, but she wanted to improve more. I suggested she try the ACT and she agreed. We switched to studying for the ACT and increased her studying time to doing at least a few quick practice problems daily via an app to keep her mind fresh. We focused on reading strategies, identifying certain question types, and grammar lessons, and continued to practice as much as possible with the strict time limits according to the test. Soon, she took the test and got a 28 on the ACT! She was accepted into her first-choice college, and I continue to keep in contact with her. Since then, I have helped other students decide which test is better for them or help them prepare for both. Looking back, I continue to be impressed by her dedication and spirit to not give up when life gets tough! She has since graduated college to work in the business world.

Laura was a student in special education in high school. However, she did not let that label or stigma that follows it define her. She was in special education because she had a chronic condition that baffled doctors for years and had to miss school frequently to be hospitalized or stay at home. Her illness was severe enough to be classified as a disability and allowed her to get accommodation in school and on tests. Additionally, she was bilingual in English and Spanish in an exclusively Spanish-speaking home, so her English writing and speaking skills were not as strong. She desired to go to college to become a graphic designer with IT and coding experience. We started working together to help her prepare for the SAT. Since she missed so much school, she lacked foundational knowledge of math, reading, and writing. Additionally, she found her classes in high school were not challenging enough. Together, we identified her areas of improvement and worked diligently three to five times per week for over a year and a half reviewing concepts, test-taking strategies, and practicing questions to get her a score of 1250 on the SAT after two attempts. After Laura took the SAT, I helped her with the college application process, and she was able to get into the college she dreamed about. One thing I admire about her is she always had such a good attitude toward learning and was so patient, flexible, and hard-working, which are critical to ensuring success.  I continue to work with her as she enters her third year of college, and I could not be prouder of her!

Hobbies and interests:

I am an avid reader! I usually am reading a physical book and listening to an audiobook. I also enjoy playing video games, knitting, ham radio, exploring new places, doing experiments, and learning new things. I have three cats and love animals.


Algebra I, Algebra II, AP Statistics


Elementary Science, Middle School Science, General Science, Biology, Honors Biology, AP Biology, Chemistry, Honors Chemistry, AP Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, AP Environmental Science, Physics, IB Biology, IB Chemistry, Astronomy, College Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Ecology, Geology, College Physics, Microbiology, College Chemistry, Biochemistry

Test Prep:

SAT Math, SAT Writing, ACT Math, ACT Science, ACT Reading, ACT English, ACT Writing, SSAT, PSAT, GRE, SAT Reading, SAT - All Sections, ACT - All Sections

ELA (Language Arts):

Phonics, Reading, Handwriting, Reading Comprehension, Vocabulary, Spelling, Grammar, Speech, Common Core English, English I, English II, English III, English IV, Honors English, AP English Language & Comp, AP English Lit & Comp, Literature, Composition, Creative Writing, Essay Writing, College Essay Writing, Spelling Bee Prep, ESL, Writing, Elementary ELA, Middle School ELA

Tutoring subjects:


Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor