Hi! I am a certified K-8 teacher with well over a decade of classroom and tutoring experience. I am in my sixth year of teaching math (up to and including Algebra I), and I have successfully owned and run my own tutoring business working with 3rd grade to adult students as well! I hold dual undergraduate degrees in Elementary Education and English Literature, and I hold a Master's of Education in College Teaching and Learning processes as well. While I have worked in higher education for a portion of my career, it is my love of elementary education that finds me in the classroom -- hopefully for the rest of my career!

Tutoring Style:

I absolutely love teaching, with all of my energy and passion going into the subjects I teach. My teaching style varies depending on the student I am working with, so as to meet their needs and personality while not causing undue pressure or stress. For example, for my quieter students I work hard to find a common interest and tailor my teaching to that interest. For my more comfortable and/or engaged students, I might model the problem they are trying to solve, then have them create their own problem based on the topic or skill for us both to solve (so the student becomes the teacher). I find that if a student can teach me or other kids in the class something they were struggling with previously, this is a good indication that they have mastered this topic or subject! Finally, I can act as a sideline cheerleader offering support and encouragement to students as they work towards gaining confidence and skills.

Success Story:

One of my favorite success stories involves an elementary school student who was failing third grade math by October of that school year. Because I only knew her slightly, being that she was not in my own class, we took time meeting 1-2 times per week building rapport and working on her confidence. As we continued to work together over a span of five years, I learned of her love of candy and sweets and sugar in general! At one point when she was experiencing difficulty with Algebra, I used Oreos and Snickers to demonstrate like and unlike terms for her. We celebrated her next test grade by having an Oreo/Snickers party! We kept in touch and today she is in her third year as an elementary school teacher. Once again, the student became the teacher, and I could not be more proud of her!

Hobbies & Interests:

When I am not tutoring I love to play the guitar! I have played guitar on and off for years, and I love playing electric and acoustic guitar. I am in a band with friends of mine, and we generally get together to play songs by the Beatles, Elvis, and any other rock n' roll groups we can think of! When not playing the guitar, I love hanging out with my wife, two children, and my extended families during our weekly Saturday get-togethers!


  • Elementary Math
  • Middle School Math
  • Common Core Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra I
  • Geometry
  • College Algebra
  • Linear Algebra
  • Saxon Math

ELA (Language Arts):

  • Phonics
  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Speech
  • Common Core English
  • English I
  • Literature
  • Composition
  • Creative Writing
  • Essay Writing
  • College Essay Writing
  • Spelling Bee Prep
  • Writing
  • Elementary ELA
  • Middle School ELA

Tutoring subjects:

Elementary Math
Elementary ELA
Middle School Math
Middle School ELA
Common Core Math
Reading Comprehension

Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor