I have 17 years of experience teaching English, Literature, and Social Studies to students from elementary school to college. I have a Master of Fine Arts in Writing and a Master's Degree in World Cultures.

Tutoring Style:

I'm nurturing, patient, and creative in my approach to students. I use a student-directed approach, helping people discover their ability to understand and conquer material through gradual, step-by-step progress. I encourage parent input and participation, if desired.

Success Story:

One of my best success stories was helping a student struggling with his course paper to discover that he could research and write about something he was passionate about: football. I taught him how to find good sources on football and research into safer play and helmets to prevent brain injuries. We worked together from coming up with his idea all the way through the draft process. When he turned in his paper, he received an A-plus and was told by his instructor it was one of the best papers they had graded in recent years.

Hobbies & Interests:

I love watching wildlife, especially in Yellowstone National Park, camping, playing with my dog, writing poetry or essays, and watching baseball.

Social Studies:

  • History
  • US History
  • World History
  • Geography
  • AP Human Geography
  • AP US History
  • Elementary Social Studies
  • Middle School Social Studies

ELA (Language Arts):

  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Vocabulary
  • Grammar
  • Speech
  • Common Core English
  • English I
  • English II
  • English III
  • English IV
  • Honors English
  • AP English Language & Comp
  • AP English Lit & Comp
  • Literature
  • Composition
  • Creative Writing
  • Essay Writing
  • College Essay Writing
  • Writing
  • Elementary ELA
  • Middle School ELA

Tutoring subjects:

Social Studies

Get started with a custom-matched tutor for your child.

Find your tutor
Get Matched With a Learner Tutor